Academic Calendar 2016-2017


Fall 2016

July 13 - Aug 8 Fall Semester Fee Payment * refer to HC Student Guide for more information
Thursday August 4 Fall Orientation - Morning
Tuesday August 9 Fall Orientation - Afternoon
Tuesday August 16 Application Deadline
Tuesday August 16 Fall Orientation - Morning
Thursday August 18 Fall Convocation
Wednesday August 24 Fall Semester Classes Begin
Tuesday August 30 Last day to add classes without instructor permission
Monday September 5 Labor Day - No Classes, College Closed
Wednesday September 7 Last day to add classes (instructor permission required)
Thursday September 8 Fall Orientation Makeup - Evening
Wednesday September 14 Last day to drop without record and receive a refund
Wednesday September 14 Bookstore - Last Day for Returns
Friday September 30 Part one of AlcoholEDU, Haven and Transit due
Wednesday October 5 Last day to drop first half only class
Monday October 10 Columbus Day - College OPEN and classes in session
Friday October 14 First Half Semester Classes End
Monday October 17 Second Half Semester Classes Begin
Tuesday October 18 Mid-term grades due
Thursday-Friday October 20-21

MEA-MFT - No Classes, College OPEN
Nursing Classes are in session

Tuesday November 1 Part two of AlcoholEDU, Haven and Transit due
Tuesday November 8 Election Day - No Classes, College Closed
Friday November 11 Veteran's Day - No Classes, College Closed
Monday November 14 Registration begins for current students
Wednesday November 23 Thanksgiving Break - No Classes, College OPEN
Thursday-Friday November 24-25 Thanksgiving Break - No Classes, College Closed
Monday November 28 Last day to drop classes
Thursday December 1 Registration begins for new students
Friday December 2 Graduation applications are due for Spring 2017 graduates
Wednesday December 7 Last day to drop second half only class
Monday - Friday December 12-16 Book Buyback
Friday December 16 Last Day of Fall Semester Classes
Friday December 16 LPN Pinning Ceremony
December 19-January 2 Bookstore Closed
December 19-January17 Semester Break - No Classes, College Open
Tuesday December 20 Grades Due
Friday December 23 Grades Posted to MY HC
Sunday December 25 Christmas Day
Monday December 26 Christmas Day (observed) - No Classes, College Closed

Spring 2017

November 14 - January 9 Spring Semester Fee Payment  - Refer to HC Student Guide for more information
Sunday January 1 New Year's Day
Monday January 2 New Year's Day (observed) - No Classes, College Closed
Tuesday January 3 Bookstore Opens
Tuesday January 10 Application Deadline
Tuesday January 10 Spring Orientation - Afternoon
Monday January 16 MLK Day - No Classes, College Closed
Wednesday January 18 Spring Semester Classes Begin
Tuesday January 24 Last day to add classes without instructor permission
Thursday January 26 Make up Spring Orientation - Evening
Tuesday January 31 Last day to add classes (instructor permission required)
Friday February 3 Bookstore - Last Day for Returns
Tuesday February 7 Last day to drop without record and receive a refund
Friday February 17 Part one of AlcoholEDU, Haven and Transit due
Monday February 20 President's Day - No Classes, College Closed
Wednesday March 1 Last day to drop first half only class
Friday March 10 First Half Semester Classes End
Monday March 13 Second Half Semester Classed Begin
Tuesday March 14 Mid Term Grades Due
Monday March 20 Part two of AlcoholEDU, Haven and Transit due
Mon-Friday March 27-31

Student Break - No Classes, College OPEN

*Bookstore closed

Monday April 10 Registration begins for current students
Wednesday April 19 Last day to drop classes
Friday April 21 Helena College Day (Student Break, College Open)
Thursday April 27 Graduation applications are due for Summer anf Fall 2017 graduates
Monday May 1 Registration begins for new students
Tuesday May 2 Last day to drop second half only class
Monday-Friday May 8-12 Book Buyback
Thursday May 11 Last day of classes
Friday May 12 LPN/RN Pinning Ceremony
Saturday May 13 Graduation
Monday May 15 Grades Due
Thursday May 18 Grades Posted to MY HC

Summer 2017

Monday May 15 Summer Semester Classes Begin
Monday May 15 Start of First PN Session
Monday May 29 Memorial Day - No Classes, College closed
Tuesday May 30 Start of First 5 Week Session
Friday June 9 End of First PN Session
Monday June 12 Start of Second PN Session
Thursday-Friday June 29-30 Bookstore Closed for Inventory
Friday June 30 End of First 5 Week Session
Monday July 3 Start of Second 5 Week Session
Tuesday July 4 Independence Day - No Classes, College Closed
Friday July 7 Start of Second PN Session
Monday July 10 Start of Third PN Session
Friday August 4 End of Second 5 Week Session
Thursday-Friday August 10-11 Bookstore Summer Buyback
Friday August 11 End of Third PN Session
Friday August 11 Summer Semester Classes End

Note: Exchange Columbus Day Holiday (10/10) for Friday following Thanksgiving (11/25)