Helena College School Code 007570

Financial Aid Loans

Know What You Owe

The National Student Loan Data System has information about your federal loans.

To review your loan information you will need:

  • Social Security number
  • First two letters of your last name
  • Your date of birth
  • FAFSA Federal Student Aid ID and password
    • The FSA ID and Password assigned to you when you completed the FAFSA.

Note: NSLDS does not display information about private student loans. For information on those loans, contact your lender


Helena College participates in the William D. Ford Federal Direct Student Loan Program. This means that if you borrow a federal Stafford or PLUS loan, your funding will come directly from the U.S. Department of Education. By participating in the Direct Loan Program, we ensure that our students will have access to a secure, dependable, and affordable source of funds to finance their education.

All new student loan borrowers must take four steps to receive a Federal Direct Stafford Loan:

  1. Apply for financial aid by completing the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA).
  2. After receiving your Award Letter, request/accept your Federal Stafford loan.
  3. Complete a Direct Loan Master Promissory note (MPN).

Loan Entrance Counseling will be conducted at Orientation, or face-to-face with a Financial Aid Administrator.

Parent PLUS loans

Helena College participates in the William D. Ford Federal Direct Loan program. This means that parents will borrow PLUS loans directly through the U.S. Department of Education.

The Federal Direct Parent PLUS Loan is a federal loan program offered by U.S. Department of Education available to parent(s) / step-parent of a dependent student to assist them in meeting their educational costs. To be eligible to apply, the parent borrower must not be in default on any federal education loans and be a U.S. citizen or eligible non-citizen. The Federal Direct Parent PLUS Loan requires a separate application, in addition to credit approval by the Department of Education.