Academic  Program Advising

Academic Advisors help students with overall personal, academic and career needs. They answer program questions and assist students in making academic plans and registering for classes.

Advising is located in the Student Support Center. To schedule an appointment, contact Candice Miller, Administrative Associate, at (406)-447-6939. Students may also contact an advisor in the Student Support Center via Chat Support during normal business hours from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Advising for New Students

After the application to Helena College is complete, students will receive a letter from Admissions stating they are ready for advising. Students must meet with one of the Academic Advisors in the Student Support Center.

Student Support Center advisors provide proactive, one-on-one first semester advising sessions. During these sessions, students work on educational, personal, and career goals; clarify their educational program; and learn which classes they need to take and how to register for them, using the online registration program. Students are assisted with registration by a student mentor.

Continuing Student Advising

 Students in subsequent semesters must meet with their faculty advisor to obtain the PIN number required for class registration.  To obtain the name of your faculty advisor, please log in to Starfish.  Once you obtain the name of your advisor, use Starfish to make an appointment for advising.



Academic Advisors:

Rick Caron, Director, Student Support Center
rick.caron@umhelena.edu

Alan Thompson, Career Services Coordinator
alan.thompson@umhelena.edu

Krista Townsend, Academic Advisor II
krista.townsend@umhelena.edu


Dates & Payments: Important Dates to Remember!
Friday August 15 Application Deadline
Tuesday August 19 Fall Convocation
Wednesday August 20 Fall Orientation - Morning
Thursday August 21 Fall Orientation - Afternoon and Evening
Monday August 25 Fall Semester Classes Begin
Monday September 1 Labor Day -- College Closed
Thursday September 4 Fall Orientation Makeup - Evening
Friday September 5 Bookstore--Last Day for Returns
Monday September 15 Last day to add classes
Thursday October 16 First half semester classes end
Friday October 17 Second half semester classes begin
Tuesday October 21 Mid-term grades due
Monday November 3 Spring semester registration begins for current students
Tuesday November 11 Veteran's Day -- College Closed
Tuesday November 18 Last day to drop classes; grade reflected will be a W
Wednesday November 26 Thanksgiving Break -- No Classes, College Open
Thurs-Fri November 27-28 Thanksgiving Break -- College Closed
Monday December 8 Spring semester registration begins for new students
Tue-Fri December 8-12 Bookstore Buyback
Friday December 12 Last day of classes
Friday December 12 LPN Pinning Ceremony
Tuesday December 16 Grades Due
Friday December 19 Grades posted to MyHC
Thurs - Fri December 25-26 Christmas Break - College Closed
Thursday January 1 New Year's Day - College Closed